John Mayasich named 2020-21 State of Hockey Legacy Award recipient

John Mayasich. Photo: Courtesy of the USA Hockey Hall of Fame. John Mayasich.

KSTP Sports
Updated: February 23, 2021 04:42 PM
Created: February 23, 2021 04:35 PM

Hall of Famer John Mayasich has been named the 2020-21 State of Hockey Legacy Award winner.

The Minnesota Wild, along with Minnesota Hockey and Fox Sports North, made the announcement on Tuesday. The award recognizes individuals who've made extraordinary and long-term contributions to hockey in Minnesota. Past recipients include Doug Woog, Larry Hendrickson, Bob Naegele, Jr., Walter L. Bush, Jr., Bob O'Connor, Lou Nanne, Glen Sonmor, Neal Broten and Lou Cotroneo.

"John is one of, if not the greatest hockey player the State of Hockey has ever produced," Wild owner Craig Leipold said. "We are honored to recognize his lifetime of hard work and dedication to our great sport and the tremendous recognition he has brought to Minnesota Hockey."

Mayasich led Eveleth High School to four straight undefeated seasons and state championships from 1948-51 before playing four seasons for the University of Minnesota, where he was named a three-time WCHA All-American and served as team captain his senior year. He's also the WCHA's only three-time scoring champion, and remains the Gophers' all-time leader in goals (144) and points (298) in 111 games played.

Following college, Mayasich played on two U.S. Olympic teams, winning a silver medal in 1956 and a gold in 1960. He also was a member of eight U.S. national teams, the most by any player in U.S. history.

Mayasich was inducted into the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame in 1976, the National High School Hall of Fame in 1986 — the first Minnesotan to receive that honor — along with the Wisconsin Hockey Hall of Fame in 1989, the M Club Hall of Fame in 1991 and the International Ice Hockey Federation Hall of Fame in 1997. He had his No. 8 retired by the U of M, the only player to receive that honor, and was named the WCHA's 1950's Player of the Decade. He also was awarded the NHL's Lester Patrick Trophy for outstanding service to hockey in the U.S. in 1998.

Foollowing his hockey career, Mayasich joined Hubbard Broadcasting in 1974 and served as general manager of KS95, making it one of the highest-rated FM stations in the country. He later served as president of Hubbard's radio division in 1983 before retiring in 1997. He was inducted into the Minnesota Broadcasting Hall of Fame in 2005.

Copyright 2021 - KSTP-TV, LLC A Hubbard Broadcasting Company

LIVE UPDATES: Protesters gather in Brooklyn Center for 7th night

Brooklyn Center mayor issues 11 p.m. curfew Saturday

10 new COVID-19 deaths, 2,429 new cases, MDH reports

Law enforcement: 136 people arrested Friday in connection with Brooklyn Center unrest

The queen says goodbye to Philip, continues her reign alone

Pedestrian killed after being hit by suspected impaired driver in Hopkins